Divorce In Florida: What To Know About Parent Education And Family Stabilization Classes
Getting divorced is hard—especially so for parents who share young children. In Florida, there are specialized rules and procedures in place that are designed to help make the divorce process easier on children and families. Parents with minor children are actually required to complete an online class known as Parent Education and Family Stabilization before their divorce can be finalized. Here, our Largo divorce lawyer explains the most important things to know about Parent Education and Family Stabilization in Florida.
An Overview of Parent Education and Family Stabilization Courses in Florida
As described by the Florida Department of Children and Families, Parent Education and Family Stabilization courses are “designed to educate, train, and assist divorcing parents in regards to the impact of divorce on parents and children.” Florida legislators passed this requirement with two key goals in mind:
- Prepare parents with the tools that they need to help their children cope with a divorce; and
- Educate parents so that they know their rights and responsibilities under Florida law.
A wide range of different issues are discussed and reviewed during a Parent Education and Family Stabilization class, including legal matters related to custody and visitation, emotional matters regarding the impact a divorce has on a child, and more practical guidance for child time-sharing and parental communication.
Divorcing Parents are Required to Attend a Four (4) Hour Education and Stabilization Class
It is important to emphasize that Parent Education and Family Stabilization classwork is not voluntary in Florida. If you are a parent with a minor child who is preparing for a divorce, you must complete the required coursework before your separation can be finalized. Here are four specific things to know about the procedural requirement:
- You must complete a minimum of four (4) hours of Parent Education and Family Stabilization coursework.
- The class you attend (online or in-person) must be properly approved by the Florida Department of Children and Families.
- The coursework should be completed within 45 days of the date that you filed for divorce or 45 days of the date that you were served with divorce papers.
When you finish the class, you will receive a certificate of completion. If you are subject to the Parent Education and Family Stabilization requirement, you cannot finalize your divorce without this certificate. A Florida court will simply not sign off on your divorce until the mandatory classwork is completed. If one parent refuses to cooperate, they could potentially be held in contempt of court.
Schedule a Confidential Consultation With a Divorce Attorney in Largo, FL
At the Law Office of Gale H. Moore P.A., our Largo divorce lawyer has an experienced, effective advocate for parents. If you have any specific questions about Parent Education and Family Stabilization courses in Florida, we are here to help. Call us now or contact us online to set up an initial consultation with a family lawyer. We provide divorce representation in Largo, Pinellas County, and throughout the entire region.